My first Mixtape

Recently I created a mixtape, which is available as a playlist on youtube and in this post I lead you through the thoughts and considerations that I had when I created it.

The mixtape is called ‘Mixtape Vol.1 – Rock # my Life’, I chose this title to indicate that it is my first mixtape, hence the ‘Vol.1’ and the ‘Rock # my Life’ because it refers to the theme of the mixtape which is mostly rock and punk, which are my favourite genres of music. The title can either be read as ‘Rock my life’ or it can be read as ‘Rock, my Life’, the title is open in that matter which I did intentionally to indicate that sometimes rock music means a lot to me, as in ‘Rock, my Life’ and sometimes is just there to entertain me as in ‘Rock my life’.

Mixtape Vol.1 – Rock # my Life

1. Boulevard of Broken Dreams by Green Day
2. Johnny B. Goode by Chuck Berry
3. Anarchy in the UK by The Sex Pistols
4. Dazed and Confused by Led Zeppelin
5. Sweet Dreams by Marilyn Manson (cover)
6. Gimme Shelter by The Rolling Stones (live version, Texas ’72)
7. Smells like Teen Spirit by Nirvana
8. Come together by The Beatles
9. Ain’t it fun by Dead Boys
10. The End by The Doors
11. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door by Guns ‘N Roses (cover)

The mixtape is structured in a way that there is always two songs that belong thematically together, topics are the different topics covered in class and therefore can be referenced to the previous posts on this blog. The mixtape also reflects the life of rock music (the history of rock music) because from the 50’s onwards there is a song from each decade on the mixtape.
Topics are:
Six songs of me
My favourite musical genre
Subcultures
Moral Panic
Fandom

The Mixtape opens with Boulevard of Broken Dreams which is part of the ‘Six songs of me’ post, in that post Boulevard of Broken Dreams is mentioned as ‘the song that makes me, me’ and what is more obvious than selecting the song that makes me, me as a starting point for a mixtape that is called ‘Rock # my life’. The next song on the mixtape is Johnny B. Goode by Chuck Berry, this song belongs to the ‘Moral Panic’ blog post and I put it into the playlist because it is one of the first big Rock ‘n Roll hits. When Rock ‘n Roll became famous it caused a moral panic and was also one of the first musical subcultures, that’s why I put this track on the mixtape. I put it second on the mixtape, because for one it is quite different from Boulevard of Broken Dreams which comes first and the song also tells the story of a boy and how Rock ‘n Roll was important in his life, which matches nicely with the theme of the mixtape.
The third song is ‘Anarchy in the UK’ by The Sex Pistols, the song belongs to the ‘Subculture’ post in which I wrote about punk rock as a musical subculture. And this is one of the ‘must-know’ punk songs, that’s why I put it on the mixtape. The next song is ‘Dazed and Confused’ by Led Zeppelin and it refers to the blog post about ‘My favourite musical genre’ which is rock, as you can read in the post, and Led Zeppelin is one, if not THE biggest rock band of the 70’s and that’s why they made onto the mixtape. The fifth song is ‘Sweet Dreams’ originally by The Eurythmics here in a cover version sung by Marilyn Mason. Thematically the song belongs to the ‘Moral Panic’ blog post and I decided to use a  Marilyn Mason tack for it because Marilyn Manson was subject of a moral panic regarding the columbine high school massacre. The media accused him of being partly responsible for the shooting, because his music allegedly had motivated the two killers to do the shooting. The actual song I chose can be understood as a sarcastic comment, meaning: ‘sure, Marilyn Mason’s music caused the school shooting, keep dreaming’ hence the title ‘Sweet Dreams’.
Song number six on the mixtape is ‘Gimme Shelter’ by The Rolling Stones and I chose it for the same reasons for which I chose ‘Dazed and Confused’.
The next song on the mixtape is ‘Smells like Teen Spirit’ by Nirvana and it belongs to ‘Fandom’, the most recent topic covered in class. Nirvana instantly became famous when they first came out and made Grunge globally famous, especially Kurt Cobain who became the voice of a generation. ‘Smells like Teen Spirit’ is Nirvana’s greatest hit, therefore I chose it to represent Nirvana on the mixtape. The next song also belongs to the topic ‘Fandom’ and in a way it’s more obvious than the Nirvana track, because it is ‘Come together’ by The Beatles. The Beatles were the first band ever to actually create such a thing as ‘Fandom’ and they made their fans to go crazy to a level that was unlike to anything else before it. The amount of screaming girls that would make the Beatles the number one priority in their life was horrendous and the whole phenomenon of famdom that we can see happening today with band like One Direction started with the Beatles. The song I chose can again be seen as an additional comment, because fandom is all about getting together with other people of the same interest and creating some kind of group identity and group dynamic, as in ‘Come together people, let’s be crazy fans’. The ninth song on the list is ‘Ain’t it fun’ by Dead Boys, it belongs to the post about subculture and it is a punk song. I chose it because in my opinion the song catches the spirit of the whole punk culture very well and it also one of my favourite punk songs, that’s why it’s on the mixtape.
Song number ten is ‘The End’ by The Doors, it fits in the category of ‘My favourite genre’ and its title also indicates that the end of the mixtape is near. It is a rather long song for which you have to take some time to listen to, just like a relaxin long walk at the end of the day, like the end of this mixtape.
The last song on the mixtape is ‘Knocking on Heaven’s Door’ by Bob Dylan here in a cover version by Guns ‘N Roses. In the blog post about the ‘Six songs of me’ I wrote quite a bit about this song, but as far as this mixtape goes it just says ‘Here is the end, your journey through the life of rock music is over, you’r now in rock ‘n roll heaven, I hope you enjoyed the ride’.

Leave a Reply

