My favourite musical genre

Today’s blog post will be about my favourite musical genre and about genres that I don’t like.

My favourite genre in music is rock, classic and hard rock to be a little more specific. The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Guns N Roses, just to name a few, have been my favourite bands for a long time and will be for quite some time to come. There is two main reasons why I feel connected to the kind of music they make. For one, I just love the sound of rock: Distorted guitars, powerful drums and high volume are very appealing to me. I can’t even say what it is about the texture of rock music that I appreciate it so much, I just do. It is hard to find the right words to describe such a thing as appreciation for a genre of music, that you simply love. Or have you ever tried to describe why you like sweets, I guess not, you just do. But I don’t listen exclusively to rock music, it also has to fit the occasion, but when the time is right and a good old rock tune comes on, I have this feeling that it is just right. You know that one old slightly worn out sweater that probably everyone has and that you have been wearing for years and even though it might not be as trendy as it used to be you still keep wearing it, because it just feels right. That old sweater is what rock music is like to me.
Another reason why I love rock music, especially older rock music, is the mind set that used to be associated with it. Rock music used to be wild and rebellious. The message that it transported was ‘We against everyone else’. This ‘devil may care attitude’ that rock musicians had towards a former conservative society is what also makes it my favourite genre and even defines it for me to some degree. Today’s world is full with people doing yoga, eating probiotic yogurt and walking their ridiculously small dogs. Everyone is worried about their job, their future and constantly stressd. That rock ‘n roll attitude, let’s smoke, drink and do some drugs seems hard to find nowadays, and if found often for the wrong reasons. It is the spirit of rock’ n roll that I miss sometimes, but when I listen to a drunk Jim Morrison or Axl Rose announcing to the audience that the band is having a coke break I get that spirit back, at least as long as the music keeps playing.

There is no musical genre that I completely dislike or even hate. There are genres that only have very few artist and songs that I like to listen to, but there is no genre that I dislike for the music it contains. If there is something that I don’t like about a musical genre it is other aspects associated with it. For example, I don’t like most country songs, but I appreciate that many country singers still write their own music and often have lyrics that actually have a story to tell. As opposed to many modern chart hit singles that are hard to beat in terms of meaningless lyrics. Yes, I’m looking at you Nicki Minajs and Iggy Azaleas of this world! That doesn’t mean that I don’t like pop music, but it is one aspect of modern pop music that I’m not necessarily excited about and that’s only one example out of many that I could pick. Music can criticise politics like ‘Imagine’ by John Lennon, which was written during the Vietnam war or it can define an eara like ‘San Francisco’ by Scott McKenzie which defined the summer of love. To make it short, music can be a lot, but sometimes it just has to be seen as what it is: As music. And at the end of the day music is there to entertain people in one way or another. And whenever I find myself disliking a certain genre, artist or track for lack of deeper meaning or cultural relevance, I remind myself of that.

Leave a Reply

